My Charcoal Drawing

I do enjoy pure photography but I have a mind that sees some photographs finished differently from what the camera actually sees and it greatly depends on the subject matter. The end result may be a manipulated version of how I “saw” something, not unlike my idol below…

“There was no one around to look at what I was doing – no one interested – no one to say anything about it one way or another. I was alone and singularly free, working into my own unknown – no one to satisfy except myself.” (1915, when O’Keeffe was making only charcoal drawings).

I feel a natural tendency to go with my minds view… how I feel the photo should look. Some would not approve of my creative license. I can find as many opinions on this subject as stars in the desert sky. But what makes a photo better? Black and white versus vibrant color or desaturated color for that matter. In the end, it’s my decision.

img_4710plant.jpg

One Response to “My Charcoal Drawing”

  1. cynthia elders Says:

    God issues licenses to artists, what mortal can argue with that?

Leave a Reply

