People will always dissagree…

 

Last night while sitting in the living room with my family, a debate began over the politics of the world. My niece and my sister, both loving, generous individuals who come out of the same family had views so drastically different, I began to think about what  I had heard as I drove home. I prefer to stay out of politics because no one on this earth has the same opinion on things as simple as which laundry detergent to use, let alone the state of our country.

I listened to both sides and I came up with this evaluation for myself.

I know that most of the citizens of this country will never visit a third world country unless they were actually born in one and migrated here to get way from it for a better life.

I know that most people’s opinions of the world are formed by what they are told by their teachers, televisions, newspapers or their favorite authors.

I know that no matter how much a person tries to be a mediator, as a human being they will still have an opinion and be guided by it. No one can say they are not prejudiced in some way by their upbringing, their religion, their jobs, their surroundings and personal experiences with the world around them.

There are things that I know for certain because I have seen them with my own two eyes and everything else… I do not know and cannot have an informed opinion on. I know I do not believe the news because of 3 things I experienced first hand.

1)      At 17, I attended a debate at city hall over the city wide spraying of melathion by helicopter to eliminate a fruit fly… I sat in the audience and stayed until the end. I witnessed a very outspoken yet orderly, educated group of people talking about their concerns. It was reported the next day by the newspaper that a group of rebellious people gather to wreak havoc upon the city just short of a riot.

This was my first experience with “unbiased truth”

    

2)      The second was while watching the Olympics the year a bomb went off, hurting several spectators. A Security guard “seen ingaged in suspicious activity” was rounded up and tried on National television before the facts were in hand. He was later to be released with his name and face slandered before the entire country. And he is in a long line of accused, innocent people.

 

3)      The last was a well known southern Republican Senator accused of being a racist who was so blasted in the news that he had to step down from his position. Of course, not being political, I didn’t have a clue who he was at the time.

Not 6 months prior, I had been in DC and watched this man come out of the Capital to meet an entire group of American singers from every ethnicity know to mankind, flown in to sings patriotic songs on the steps of the Capital on national TV after 9/11. He moved through the crowd, shook hands with absolutely everyone, sang several tunes in the warm up, offered funny stories, hugged many and showed me, as a bystander and yankee, what true southern hospitality is. Only seconds before the camera was rolling did the Democratic Senator come out and stand with the group to sing. When the cameras stopped, he left within two minutes. The First Senator stayed for an additional hour, moving through the crowd for one last pat on the back. He was later accused of making a racially motivated statement made at a retirement party. He himself shortly retired in disgrace, a bigot and an outcast, all his years of service negated. I can tell you that the person I saw that day was either an Oscar winning actor or someone’s future target laying in wait for that stupid remark we all say one day and wish we could forget.

 

The moral to all of this is we know nothing. We have opinions. We do not stand in the shoes of the leaders that we choose to make the decisions for us. I don’t even know what the people in my own company do on a daily basis to get jobs done to complete schedules I make, let alone what my Mayor is doing for my city. My motto is “I am only as good as the information I’m given”. Each person has somebody below them and the hierarchy is so high that decisions can and are made by the uninformed, the prejudice and even just plain stupid people. We choose them by vote and we can toss them out on their ass too because our Democracy allows us to. But no one can know everything that goes on. It’s all too much information to absorb and control.

After years of living, I do know theses few things with absolute certainty:

                   

You cannot make people love and respect you if they don’t

You cannot escape wrinkles and aging

You will see people you love suffer

You cannot save the world single handedly

Even with the best of intentions, there are those that will misunderstand you

You will die no matter how well you lived

You are the only one that can make yourself truly happy

And people will always disagree….

4 Responses to “People will always dissagree…”

  1. okay switzerland!! 🙂

  2. Juliane Says:

    well said!

  3. cynthia elders Says:

    Sure would of liked to be in that living room with all of you.

Leave a Reply

