Basilique Notre-Dame de Montréal

(English: Notre-Dame Basilica)

Montreal’s Notre-Dame Basilica has nothing in common with Paris’s except the name. It’s a neogothic building dating from 1829, constructed on the site of a much older and smaller church which had been outgrown by its parishioners. Notre Dame is noted for its lavish and beautiful interior – stained glass windows, gold-tipped polychrome carvings, paintings, statues, and especially its lavish altarpiece. It also has a notable Casavant organ and its big bell, le Gros Bourdon, is the largest bell on the continent.

img_6504nd1.jpgimg_6481nd4.jpgimg_6410nd2a.jpgimg_6443nd3.jpgimg_6475nd5.jpgimg_6445ndp.jpg

6 Responses to “Basilique Notre-Dame de Montréal”

  1. Hello,
    Beautiful photographs.
    Do they allow tripods or Monopods inside?
    I’ve been thinking of taking a trip to Montreal later in September.

    Alan

  2. Hi M6fan,

    Thank you! I don’t believe either would really be a problem. They never said a word to me about my big camera but I didn’t use a tri-pod or mono pod. If it were me, I think I would stick to the mono-pod, less conspicuous and easier to manuver in the crowd. It’s a beautiful city with lots to shoot. Have a great time and try the rooftops!

    PS, I just checked your site…wow. WOW. Everybody check it out. Some beautiful, fabulous stuff. I’m adding you to my blogroll.

  3. Stunning shots. The arches and lights and grandeur. I’m amazed that mortals built this.

  4. Whew!

  5. Wow! H, those pictures are astounding!

  6. Hello,
    Thank you for your kind words.
    You do have a great site and I’ve added your site to my blog on argesimages.wordpress.com.

    I’ll stop by often to see your latest work.

    Take care,

    Alan

Leave a Reply

