Peggy’s Cove

It’s a bit hard to understand things at times… I guess not everything is supposed to make sense to us. Anyway… that’s how I explain the experience at Peggy’s Cove to myself.

When I was a very small girl, my father gave me a very old Spanish coin. He told me to keep it in a safe place as it was very old…retrieved from the ocean… having once been carried on a sunken Spanish ship. That was the day I first dreamed I was a pirate and had battled on the high seas.

I have since been searching…many long years now…for the perfect “tall ship in a storm” painting. Who knows what drives me… but I love the thought of both the romance and the danger in all of it…and I won’t even tell you how many times I’ve watch “Master and Commander”. It’s just too embarrassing. 😉

When I first got to Peggy’s Cove, I noticed the small cottages, the wood worn lobster traps and the smell of the salty sea. But when I stood on the cliffs to look down at the ocean, I was hit with something beyond all reason…and beyond my control. I could feel the waves crashing and I instinctively knew the landscape. It was as if I was sucked into a vacuum and smacked with a light… both terrifying and exhilarating at the same time. I kept looking at the other visitors to see if they were examining me oddly. No one seemed to notice my past life experience. I was in it all alone.

I walked to a small cottage… an Artist’s studio, still trying to make sense of it all. I met a woman who created the most wonderful paintings and we talked at great length about her inspirations. I got up the courage to tell her about my wild adventure and she offered me the most magnificient, knowing smile. She said there were others before me…

There was a young red haired girl…standing in the wind…playing her fiddle. It was the sweetest wailing sound I’ve ever heard as it filled the air around me and trailed down the cliffs below. I had tears in my eyes as I listened and she looked right at me and smiled. It was a strange king of magic.

I don’t know if people get to live another life (or many)..but if they do… then I’m just sure I’ve been to Peggy’s Cove before. I hope I was a pirate and lived a brave, romantic life and hopefully never made anyone walk a plank. If I did and you feel you could be a previous victim reading this and decide to look me up…. be advised… I might start wearing the sword I keep on my fireplace. And have faith in me…if I buried any treasure and remember where it is… I’ll be mighty glad to share it with you matey!

I can just see it now…being locked away for either digging at a National Monument with past life pirates or for trying to explain this story!

img_4599pc.jpg

Leave a Reply

