Fires and friends

Today was a stress filled day…watching the folks I’ve worked with side-by-side for 20 years…frantically on their cell phones. They were monitoring fires, checking the websites, listening for updates and calling family and friends. My buddy in the next cubicle was on the phone with his Parent’s as the announcement came through for mandatory evacuations in their area. I saw how helpless he looked, knowing he would not being able to make it to them with all the freeways jammed. The friend and co-worker that took over my old position…she never showed up at all. The fire stopped right at her fence, just before her pool and home. She was carrying her cat in her car… on a leash and her husband was still at home making sure things were still safe. I spoke to a client who had taken in evacuees and I could hear the nervousness in her voice as she said she needed to get home…to make them feel more comfortable. I watched the quiet guy in the corner, sole support of his large, college bound family…silently checking the web for reports of how close things were getting to his home…as the wind changed direction.

I left today not knowing exactly what tomorrow brings for each of them… What does any of us ever really know? I took my camera down to the Ocean because that clicking shutter always seems to make me calm. The fires are burning off to both sides of where I live and though my home is in no danger, nor my families, I still feel a part of all of those people’s fears. Fire always brings photographers and sunsets together and sure enough, they were all lined up along the shore. The wind was creating massive waves with a heavy spray…and yes, the ol’ sun was setting in a sky of reddish pink. I watch them all in their orderly line… with their fancy lenses, some as long as my arm and as round as my thigh, all sitting atop an array of tripods… sunk deep into the sand. I tossed my head and walked right past them…rolled up my pants and headed straight out to sea. It was the first time in my life, I decided to throw politeness to a strong wind. This was my beach and my bad day and I didn’t care if I invaded their shots. My hair blew in my face and my pants got soaked and I had a heck of a time just standing still while trying to protect my most precious lens. I breathed in the ocean scent and once again felt invincible… I will meet tomorrow head on…with whatever it takes…

I am my Father’s Daughter… πŸ˜‰

img_8564.jpg

8 Responses to “Fires and friends”

  1. Good philosophy to live by….
    Hope everyones ok.

    Nice Sunset! the sequential waves and colors are fantastic.
    πŸ™‚

  2. Wow, H, that’s a great picture. We didn’t know about it too much. Doug said look at the news! I did. I couldn’t believe it! I told Jess, he was a little worried, but I told him that you said your house and momas was ok. I’m sorry that your co-workers are being touched by natures’ fury this way! Stay safe, little sister, we’ll see you soon…

  3. I wondered about you a lot today. I kept meaning to log on and ask if you were in danger. I’m glad you have that big ocean right next to you. It is a gorgeous photo. I’m so sorry this is happening. It’s sad, sad, sad.

    I remember sitting on a plane from San Jose to San Diego with a Mexican woman, older, who lived in Ramona. Her husband had died not long ago. She glommed onto me as if I were a daughter. And I connected with her instantly. We talked the entire flight. I’m thinking of her, too. I hope she is safe.

  4. yb, I too hope she is safe. San Diego County was hit hard today. Over half a million people removed from their homes. The freeways out of there are so congested on any given day, I can’t imagine what it must be like today. I have great faith in those Fire Fighters and the winds have died down. It’s only a matter of time before it’s under control. Thank you for your kind thoughts.

  5. Sister of mine…tell my Nephew all is safe and sound and that nothing ever stops Halloween…well possibly a heart attack… but in our family it seems to be the brain that goes first πŸ˜‰

  6. Our thoughts and prayers are going out to the many, many folks that have lost their homes and all of their personal possessions, and beloved pets due to the horrible fires. Thank You Heather, for thinking of them.

  7. Very kind word Alan. Thank you

  8. Very kind words Alan. Thank you

Leave a Reply

