A New View

I met my new landlord, Alex, Friday and signed a one year lease for Anuvue (pronounced A-NEW-VIEW) or a new way to see. I came prepared with altered photos to show him my ideas (the before and the after) and he agreed to every idea my brain could conjure up. Either I took him by surprise (he couldn’t get out of the booth we sat in) or he is, as my first impression told me, a very easy going guy. When I first walked in to meet him, I put on my best “adult face”…but when I saw that I towered over him by probably seven inches… How could I not grin my crooked grin? Anyway, I can never hide my “inner child” for long…so he met the real me…and we liked each other immediately.

It’s amazing to think that something I’ve been thinking about (for more than 15 years) is only a few months away from reality. A long time ago I read about a women named Mabel Dodge Luhan. She was a wealthy socialite who married an Indian Artist named Tony and together they started a gathering place for artists of their time period. Those people included Georgia O’Keeffe (the Painter), Ansel Adams (the Photographer) and DJ Lawrence (the Writer) just to name a few. This was in Taos, New Mexico in the 20’s and it was a place I went and saw for myself many, many years ago. I stayed in the same room as Ansel Adams and I used the bathroom in which DH Lawrence had tried out his Artistic talents…and painted the windows. I could definitely feel a certain spirit as I walked through the home and the many pathways. Old Mabel’s Adobe still stands the test of time and has been renovated and restored to it’s original majesty. Artists and Writers still gather there (from all over) for workshops and fellowship. After I read about her life, I began to dream of my own “Luhan West”…a place for people of like minds to gather. A place to share art, poetry, photography…whatever creative outlet they chose. A place to commune, show their work and hopefully sell some too. I’m starting out small (as I’m am not rich) but I have big dreams.

I met a woman recently from Turkey who owns a tiny little Gallery and makes the most inventive couture clothing. I won’t give away her secret just yet, as I plan to have her join in. She told me of her friend (a talented artist in her own right) and said this friend had recently taken some of her work to a Gallery in Los Angeles. She said she tried to give the owner her card and that the owner took the card between the tips of his thumb and pointer finger (as if to not soil his hand) and dropped it into the waste can…without word…right in front of her. I have a perfect vision of that and I ask myself…”what gives someone the right to squash another’s dreams” and my answer is always the same…”Absolutely nothing”! And that’s my opinion of what is currently out there because I have seen and heard this story over and over.

The current tenants of the future Anuvue Studio are two really nice guys. One did some really spectacular things to the interiors as far as flooring and moldings. He is moving on to consolidate 2 businesses into a larger area. The other is his longtime friend and his CPA (and now mine). I told him I didn’t know if I would ever make any money but at least I would find happiness (and maybe a tax write off) doing something I loved. He looked me straight in the eye and said…”Heather…the people that are not certain of success….are not counting on it to survive…but are fulfilling a lifetime dream with something they love and care about…are sometimes the most successful of all”. He made me smile at that…We will be a good match.

3 Responses to “A New View”

  1. I so love to read what you write, Heather, feels like I’m right there with you, following you around on your great adventure!

  2. What a great read. I clung to every word until the end and wasn’t disappointed. I’m thrilled for you!!

  3. Coming from you both…and yb being a real writer.. good grief….my head won’t fit through the door…and it’s already so enormous that I have trouble with hats!

Leave a Reply

