Today is carry a poem in your pocket day

I carried this one…

If you sit down at set of sun
And count the acts that you have done,
And, counting, find
One self-denying deed, one word
That eased the heart of him who heard,
One glance most kind
That fell like sunshine where it went–
Then you may count that day well spent.

But if, through all the livelong day,
You’ve cheered no heart, by yea or nay–
If, through it all
You’ve nothing done that you can trace
That brought the sunshine to one face–
No act most small
That helped some soul and nothing cost–
Then count that day as worse than lost.

George Elliot 1819 -1880

8 Responses to “Today is carry a poem in your pocket day”

  1. Not a poem, but this was found in my father’s wallet after he passed away. It sums up who he was.
    I shall pass through this world but once, Any good therefore that I can do or any kindness that I can show to any human being, let me do it now. Let me not deter nor neglect it for I shall not pass this way again.

  2. And that’s a fact…he was that and more to all of us privledged to know…California Joe…

    at least both “Bill” and I think so 😉

  3. Juliane Hope Says:

    My Poem, called Intrinsic.
    Depths of souls elude
    powers of mindset intrude
    direction of visions enchant
    clarity substance, recant
    multiple facets existing
    collective perceptions enlisting
    appeasing the masses
    through rose-colored glasses
    is this an ideal worth resisting!
    By My daughter, Corina

  4. At first I was wondering what “Bill” you were referring to and then it dawned on me. My father was never good with names.
    Tell “Bill” Joseph was enjoying the OC car chase down 405 freeway today on Headline News. We don’t get those in this neck of the woods. I told him it was a weekly thing in So Cal.

  5. missyogini Says:

    I like it 🙂 I also like Mary Oliver’s poems. I have been known to carry some of her work with me from time to time.

  6. Amen!! Yeah, if we all did what was said in the pocket poem, well, then, things would be Heavenly..

  7. I love this poem, Heather. I hadn’t caught it until now.

Leave a Reply

