The day after…

Wow. There are really no words for the feelings…

We had about 100 people…beautiful…well mannered people to support the Artists and their work. I got a text from my lifelong friend who now lives in New York and could not be there… just as we began. I had to walk off to dry my eyes.

I met so many people…good people…and I was humbled at the site of not even being able to move about in my own gallery for all the traffic. So many good wishes. So many positive, kind, beautiful people…to share a dream.

Susan, the studio’s intern, was fabulously poised, detailed, polite, professional and handled that crowd at the reception desk with an outer calm that was amazing! God only knows what she was feeling on the inside! I was so grateful to have her help.

Thank goodness Kweli was there to help Susan with her jewelry because she did really well. I barely saw Kweli all night and not because she’s tiny…but because she was so busy selling. I had a friend walk over, sporting one of Kweli’s fabulous rings, proudly stating it was the very first ring she had made.

Jamie drew caricatures of the crowd which they all greatly enjoyed and Jeremy not only brought his guitar but a friend with a mandolin and another with an instrument that looked like a keyboard with a hose to blow into…heck…I can’t remember the name…I can’t even feel my own feet right now…but they were wonderful!

At the end of the night, when everyone was gone…I walked the gallery to see 2 red dots next to 2 photographs…Jim had sold his fabulous shot of Roy’s off Route 66…and the other, well it was mine.

I had no idea…

7 Responses to “The day after…”

  1. Poetic justice in all its finery!!! AH, amazing!!!

  2. missyogini Says:

    Congratulations! I’m so happy for you 🙂

  3. This event was the most fun, well-organized and well-attending openings I have ever attended. Everyone I invited called to tell me how much fun they had, how beautiful and wonderful the attendees were, and how powerful the art was. It just doesn’t get much better than that.

    Heather was glowing with happiness, pride and joy. Wow! She, with the help of her fabulous friends and Michael, pulled of a first class gallery opening.

    I can’t wait for the next event. What an honor to be a participant. What a pleasure to finally meet all the other artist. Gee! I’m out of words … that’s a first!

  4. I’m so glad you posted this. I would have loved to be there, but reading about it and hearing of all the energy and excitement and sales — and one of yours — woo-hoo, girl, you rock!

  5. Heather, I just have no words to say what I feel.. I am just SO proud of you! This is an incredible thing you have accomplished! Dang, Sis, you do rock!!

  6. I moved these comments to read after the event.

    What an amazing night it was! I am so glad that I finally met you. I bet you are exhausted. Thank you for everything. It was a treat for all of us. You are an amazing woman!
    Comment by Kathy L. July 13, 2008 @ 6:15 am

    It was quite a night..so much to see, all beautiful, down to every detail. May the future be very bright for you and all the many Artists and Photographers.
    Comment by Juliane July 13, 2008 @ 3:17 pm

  7. MaryBeth Says:

    Heather,
    A delayed comment about how fantastic your opening was! Every detail was just perfect– thanks for including me in your fantastic new space 🙂

Leave a Reply

