The New Year

HAPPY NEW YEAR

An optimist stays up until midnight to see the new year in.
A pessimist stays up to make sure the old year leaves.

Bill Vaughn

2 Responses to “The New Year”

  1. I read this translation of ‘Auld Lang Syne’ by Robert Burns. As I read the translation it ‘brought to mind’ my dearest friends that I left many miles away in California and felt it fitting to share as the New Year begins –

    Should old friends be forgotten and never brought to mind?
    Should old friends be forgotten and the days they shared together?
    For days now in the past,
    my dear,
    For days now in the past,
    We’ll drink a toast of kind remembrance,
    For days now in the past.
    You can pay for your pint
    tankard and I will pay for mine
    We’ll drink a toast of kind remembrance,
    For days now in the past
    We two have ran about the
    hillsides and pulled
    wild daisies
    But now we are far apart in distance,
    From those days now
    in the past.
    We two have paddled in the stream from morning until noon,
    But oceans now lie between us since those days now in the past
    So take my hand, my trusty friend, and give me your hand
    And we will take a hearty drink together,
    In memory of those days now in the past.

  2. You’re in my mind and heart no matter the miles.
    I’ll be drinking ice tea 😉
    Happy New Year Kathy

Leave a Reply

